My Child

Dear Child,

My lonely starving Child.

Although I am not your mum,

fact that you exist that makes you mine.

I see your dry tears

your bone through your skin

your diminishing soul through your eyes.

I see the passers-by with more wealth than you 

Just pass you by.

I see the passers-by with more wealth than you,

look and go on by. 

Your mum abandoned you.

Your dad abandoned you.

Your mum starved to death.

Your dad was killed.

Though they do not know your situation

still they blame your parents.

To most that pass on by

you’re just a blur.

To most that pass on by

you’re invisible. 

But to me My Child,

I see you and your beauty.

Your enhanced strength showing

as you’re still holding on.

I call you My Child with a capital C

because you’ve always been and still are human to me.

My Child.

Your mum is gone

along with your dad.

But your other mum is still here with open arms.

Ready to embrace you.

You are not without. 

My Child. 

Dorita C.

Leave a Reply

